Omicron : Nigeria Incurs Travel ban from Canada.

Omicron virus spread has caused citizens of Nigeria to incur incur travel ban from Nigeria. The Canadian authorities had to announce the ban in a bid to curb the spread of the deadly Omicron coronavirus variant.

The announcement which was made on Tuesday December 30 also affects other countries such as ;  South Africa, Namibia, Lesotho, Botswana, Eswatini, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Nigeria, Malawi and Egypt.

Omar Alghabra,Canadian Transport Minister
revealed that nationals who had been to the listed countries in the past 14 days would be temporarily prevented from entering Canada.

In the same vein, Canadians and permanent residents who have visited the listed countries and those who are fully vaccinated, will as a matter of necessity also be tested before re-entering Canada.

Meanwhile, the  Nigeria Center for Disease and Control (NCDC) have detected 2 cases of Omicron variant in Nigeria.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.